Manufacturing process

serpent_bois

Wood. My serpents are made of two wooden half pipes, cut in miror. I use hard wood that is easier to shape, such as maple, pear, walnut or cherry. Those woods have a very few pores, and therefore have a naturally smooth finish on their inside surface, wich are interesting qualities for the manufacturing of the serpent.
First, the gross parts (~850*450*57 mm) are carved rough to realise the inside pierces; the finish is made by hand with gouges and scrapers adjusted to the different curves. Then the external side is sketched and the half pipes temporary assembled in order to proceed to the checking and correction of the tuning of the instrument, before the definitive gluing.

After that, I began with the fine settings, especially the holes. During that step, I play, I listen and I adjust until I eventually get to a balanced instrument. Because the serpent is a very flexible instrument, I need to fully explore each note and its relation with the others. A very important part that will still continue after the laying of the leather.

After the finishing of the external shape and the last oil impregnation, the serpent will still rest a few weeks before it receives its skin.

Leather. Traditionally, the serpent is black, but depending on the chosen leather, the color before tincture can vary from light beige to dark brown. I choose the skins for their flexibility and the aspect they will have after the sheathing : tanned with vegetal tannins, not stained or varnished by the tanner.
The wet leather is formed on the instrument making use of hot glues and natural resins in solution. The gelatin contained in the glue, the humidity and the right working temperature help to mold the leather as the glue ensures an intimate relation between wood and leather.

To the pace of the progress, the covering joints are cut and pared : to pare the joints, I diminish the thikness in order to make them bevelled on both pieces, then I stitch them down and glue them. The used glue type permits a very strong link between the elements : a joint is quickly difficult to unstick and its quality secures the continued sheathing around the serpent.

The tension of the leather after drying enhances the homogeneity of the serpent_laiton_cuir instrument body…and of the tone. It is a surprising to discover the sound of the same instrument after it has been sheathed : it becomes clearer and more steady on all the notes, more powerfull too, but keeping its roundness.

Brass. To make the leadpipe, a trapezoidal sheet of brass is rolled around a conic mandril ; it is hammered, welded and filled with molten lead : the cold lead has then the right rigidity to follow the brass cone while bending it on the template.
The conicity is subject to a very careful attention for the accuracy of the instrument in the different proposed forks : 415, 440, 430. Same for the shape while bending in order to ensure a pleasant position of the instrument.

I designed the keys of my serpens following the model of the historical serpent #, mesured at the MIM of Brussels. They are forged and wrought in solid brass bars. The cap that will receive the pad is welded and fitted to the curve of the instrument. The pads are made of lamb felt , following a specific tanning process that gives an extremely flexible leather, less to moisture.

Horn and wood of the mouthpieces. For the turning of the mouthpieces, I use very hard and smooth woods : European boxwood, ebony, rose wood,…and horn.

Working on the mouthpieces is always in progress. It is the result of historical measurements but also long experiments on acoustic and musical level. The mouthpiece is a determining element in the relation the musician has with his or her instrument and it wouldn’t make sense to think of only one model with a unique vision of the sound. The serpent has been through several centuries and musical environments. And if the instrument itself doesn’t seem to have been modified a lot, it isn’t so for the mouthpiece since it had to offer different voices depending on the accompaniment in the plainsong or the orchestra.

serpent_embouchure Nevertheless, two big families of inside profiles remain:

- the family with hemispherical half pipe, rich in bass frequencies, “spectral” sound, with a windy sound in order to get along with the voices, inside reverbful acoustics, or among snare instruments for the continuo, for instance for playing XVIIth and XVIIIth c. repertoire.

- the family with a rather conic half pipe with more timbre, more centred sound, richer in medium frequencies more fitted for playing solo and for orchestra in a more recent repertoire.

Fabrication

serpent_bois

Bois. Mes serpents sont composés de deux demi-coques en bois, taillées en miroir. J’utilise pour cela des bois durs qui se taillent bien, tels que l’érable, le poirier, le noyer ou le cerisier. Ces bois ont également très peu de pores et un fini de surface naturellement lisse et très serré, qualités intéressantes pour la facture d’instruments à vent.

Les pièces capables (~850x450x57mm) sont d’abord dégrossies pour réaliser la perce intérieure ; pour la taille de finition, gouges et racloirs s’ajustent aux différentes courbes. La forme extérieure est ensuite ébauchée et les demi-coques assemblées provisoirement pour une première vérification et correction de la justesse de l’instrument avant le collage.

Après celui-ci, je procède aux réglages fins, notamment celui des trous. Durant cette étape je joue, j’écoute et j’ajuste pour arriver progressivement à l’équilibre de l’instrument. Le serpent étant un instrument d’une grande souplesse , il faut explorer chaque note et sa relation avec les autres. C’est un travail essentiel qui sera encore affiné après la pose du cuir.
Après la finition de la forme extérieure et la dernière imprégnation en huile, le serpent se reposera encore quelques semaines avant de recevoir sa peau.

Cuir. Traditionnellement le serpent est de couleur noire, mais suivant le cuir choisi, la couleur avant teinte peut aller de beige claire à brun foncé. Je choisis les peaux pour leur souplesse et le rendu qu’elles auront après le gainage : tannées au tanin d’origine végétale, non teintées ou vernis par le tanneur.
Le cuir mouillé est mis en forme sur l’instrument à l’aide de colles chaudes additionnées de résines naturelles en solution. La gélatine contenue dans ces colles, l’humidité et la juste température de travail aident à modeler le cuir sur l’instrument à mesure que la colle assure une liaison intime entre le bois et le cuir.

Au rythme de l’avancement, les joints de recouvrement sont recoupés et parés: pour parer les joints, je les diminue en biseau dans l’épaisseur dessus et dessous puis les rabats et les colle. Le type de colle utilisé assure une liaison très forte entre les éléments: un joint est rapidement difficile à décoller et sa qualité assure un gainage continue autour du serpent.

La tension du cuir au séchage renforce l’homogénéité du corps de serpent_laiton_cuir l’instrument et … du timbre. C’est un moment étonnant que de découvrir le son du même instrument après gainage: il a gagné en luminosité, en régularité sur l’ensemble des notes, en puissance aussi mais en gardant sa rondeur.

Laiton. Pour réaliser le bocal une feuille de cuivre trapézoïdale est enroulée autour d’un mandrin conique ; elle est martelée, soudée, puis remplie de plomb fondu: le plomb a la juste rigidité pour accompagner le cône de laiton pendant le cintrage sur une forme.
La conicité fait l’objet d’une attention toute particulière pour la justesse de l’instrument dans les différents diapasons proposés -415, 440, 430- La forme au cintrage également pour une position agréable de l’instrument.

J’ai dessiné les clés de mes serpents suivant le modèle du serpent historique n° mesuré au Musée des Instruments de Musique de Bruxelles. Elles sont forgées et façonnées dans des barres de laiton ; la calotte qui recevra les tampons est soudée et ajustée à la courbe de l’instrument. Les tampons sont fait en feutre d’agneau mégissé, mode de tannage particulier qui donne un cuir extrêmement souple et moins sensible à l’humidité.

Corne & Bois des embouchures. Pour le tournage des embouchures j’utilise des bois très dur et lisse : buis européen, ébène, bois de rose… et de la corne.

Le travail des embouchures est sans cesse en évolution il est le fruit de relevés historiques mais aussi de longues expérimentations en situation acoustique et musicale. L’embouchure  est un élément déterminant dans la relation qu’a le musicien avec son instrument et penser un seul modèle d’embouchure avec une vision unique du son serait une aberration. Le serpent a traversé plusieurs siècles ainsi que beaucoup d’environnements musicaux. Et si l’instrument lui même semble n’avoir reçu que peu des modifications il n’en va pas de même pour l’embouchure qui devait lui offrir des voix différentes selon qu’il accompagnait le plain chant ou sonner dans l’orchestre.

serpent_embouchure

Cependant deux grandes familles de profiles internes se distinguent :

- la famille avec cuvette hémisphérique, riche en fréquences basses, son « spectral » avec une présence de vent dans le son pour se fondre dans les voix au sein d’une acoustique très reverbérantes ou parmi une texture instrumentale de cordes dans un continuo par exemple pour du répertoire plutôt XVII et XVIII.

- la famille avec cuvette plutôt conique au son plus timbré, plus centré, plus riche en fréquences médium pour un jeu plus soliste et pour l’orchestre dans un répertoire plus tardif.